Today’s cloudy skies did nothing to dampen enthusiasm at the  annual science day at Klemgard Park, organized by Assistant Professor Blakely Tsurusaki.  Nor did a bit of Mother Nature’s bluster keep WSU videographer Matt Haugen from recording the energy of some of the 275 youngsters who were on hand.  Matt’s video, which is already posted online, features WSU students Amy Romero, Dave Marshall and Adrian Espindola.

More award winners
Assistant Professor Pauline Sameshima will receive the 2010 Critical Issues in Curriculum and Cultural Studies Early Career Award at the American Educational Research Association annual meeting this spring.  Pauline, who is known for her interdisciplinary approach to teaching and research, has written three books and is a regular contributor to curriculum journals.  She has co-chaired the WSU Globalization, Diversity & Education Conference and administers a curriculum theory social network.

Two doctoral students from the Department of Teaching and Learning were among those recognized by the Association for Faculty Women as outstanding women in graduate studies.  Finalists for the Harriett B. Rigas Award included Cara Preuss, who took third place,  and Janine Darragh, who received honorable mention.